Skip to content ↓

Areas of Learning

The EYFS is made up of three prime areas of learning:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development.
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

There are four specific areas of learning:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Through careful assessments and observations, including information provided by parents and other settings, children’s development levels are assessed. The balance will shift towards a more equal focus on all areas of learning as children grow in confidence and ability within the three prime areas. However, if a child’s progress in any prime area gives cause for concern, staff will discuss this with the child’s parents and/or carers and agree how to support the child. This may also include a discussion with the SENCo in order to access Special Educational Needs support.

Planning and guided children’s activities will reflect on the different ways that children learn and reflect these in their practice. We support children in using the three characteristics of effective teaching and learning. These are:

• Playing and exploring: children investigate and experience things, and ‘have a go’;

• Active learning: children concentrate and keep on trying if they encounter difficulties, and enjoy achievements.

• Creating and thinking critically: children have and develop their own ideas, make links between ideas, and develop strategies for doing things.